Dad’s Rhubarb Pie (or Crisp)

My dad makes the best rhubarb pie. When rhubarb is in season, he probably makes a pie 3 times a month. Needless to say, I need to exercise a bit more during rhubarb season! This is the best recipe for rhubarb pie EVER. The key is to never mix strawberries with rhubarb pie… in ruins the taste of the rhubarb. My dad texted me last night (Saturday) telling me he had rhubarb. My immediate response was: Pie tomorrow? And pie there was. Thanks, Dad!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons Flour
  • ¼ teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 4½ Cups Rhubarb (1″ pieces)

Directions: Mix all together, Pour into 10″ crust.

Wet edge of crust & cover with top crust

Bake: 425° – 15 minutes > 350° – 35 minutes (60 minutes if using frozen Rhubarb)

Rhubarb Pie

If you don’t feel like making a pie, Rhubarb Crisp is also delicious.

Rhubarb Crisp

  • 4 Cups Rhubarb (1½ lbs)
  • Cut up Rhubarb (1″ pieces), place in 8″x8″ ungreased pan
  • ½ teaspoon Salt
  • Sprinkle over the Rhubarb
  • 1½-2 Cups Sugar (depending upon tartness of the rhubarb)
  • ¾ Cup Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon

Directions: Mix together, then cut in: 5 Tablespoons Butter

Sprinkle the flour mixture over the Rhubarb

(Mix it into the rhubarb just a bit so you see pieces of rhubarb peeking through)

Bake at 350° for 40-50 minutes

Reference: Paul Mundt

One response to “Dad’s Rhubarb Pie (or Crisp)

  1. I in addition to my pals have been looking at the great tactics located on your site and so suddenly I had a terrible feeling I never thanked the website owner for those strategies. My people appeared to be totally warmed to learn them and now have in fact been having fun with those things. I appreciate you for simply being well considerate as well as for figuring out certain magnificent resources most people are really desirous to understand about. Our own sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to sooner.

Leave a Reply

