Spaghetti Carbonara

I absolutely love this recipe. My mother used to make this all the time when I was a child and my brothers (I have 5!) and I would eat so fast so we could get seconds before it was gone. I have since added some of my own personal favorites to the recipe, making it an even tastier dish. This is incredibly easy to make and is a healthy choice compared to many other recipes. The bacon, chives and sun-dried tomatoes really add a lot of complexity to the meal.

Spaghetti Carbonara from Espinosa Kitchen

Spaghetti Carbonara

Ingredients

  • ½ package bacon, crumbled
  • 6 oz. Canadian Bacon, chopped
  • 8 -9 oz. thin whole wheat spaghetti
  • 8 oz. mushrooms, quartered
  • 2 roma tomatoes, chopped (or ¼ cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped)
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 can evaporated milk (don’t use the fat-free)
  • ½ cup fresh chives, chopped
  • ¼ cup Parmesan cheese
  • ½ tablespoon black pepper
  • Salt and extra pepper as needed

Directions:

  1. Boil water and cook pasta according to package directions.
  2. Cook bacon and let cool on paper towel. Dump excess grease into tin can and place in the freezer for appropriate disposal.
  3. Saute Canadian bacon in pan bacon was cooked in – there should be a little bacon grease left over. Saute mushrooms in the other pan with left over bacon grease (not the stuff in the freezer – the pan should still be slightly greased.) Add sun-dried tomatoes to mushrooms and cook another 1-2 minutes.
  4. Drain pasta and place back in pot. Add evaporated milk and Parmesan cheese. Add paprika, pepper and chives. Mix well and add bacon, Canadian bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes.

21 responses to “Spaghetti Carbonara

  1. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  2. Hi there very cool web site!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also…I am glad to search out a lot of useful information here in the submit, we need develop extra techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.

  3. I have been surfing on-line more than three hours as of late, yet I never found any fascinating article like yours. It’s beautiful worth sufficient for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the internet will probably be much more useful than ever before.

  4. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & help different customers like its aided me. Great job.

  5. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you Nonetheless I am experiencing challenge with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting an identical rss downside? Anyone who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  6. Good post. I study something more difficult on different blogs everyday. It should at all times be stimulating to learn content from different writers and practice just a little one thing from their store. I’d prefer to make use of some with the content material on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a link in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I’ve recently started a web site, the info you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work. “Show me the man who keeps his house in hand, He’s fit for public authority.” by Sophocles.

  8. I got what you mean , thanks for posting .Woh I am happy to find this website through google. “I would rather be a coward than brave because people hurt you when you are brave.” by E. M. Forster.

  9. I’ve read some good stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much attempt you put to make this kind of fantastic informative web site.

Leave a comment