Crunchy Granola

Granola can be very sugary and high in calories – not to mention expensive! But for the past couple years, I have been making my own granola. It is surprisingly easy, fairly cheap, and low in fat and calories. Did I also mention it’s delicious?! The only downside to making granola is that I have to be in the mood for it because Carlos will eat it all before I get a chance if I don’t dig in within the first few days!

Crunchy Granola

My recipe has a few modifications from the link above. Kathleen Daelemans does a fabulous job with her recipes and I recommend her books.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup water
  • 4 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 8 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 cups chopped pecans, sliced almonds, raw sunflower seeds, ground flaxseed
  • ¾ cup Raisins

Directions:

Preheat oven to 275°F. Line two cookie sheets with parchment or wax paper and set aside.

Combine brown sugar and water in a large microwave-proof glass measuring cup or bowl. No smaller – it could boil over.  Microwave for 5 minutes or cook until sugar is completely dissolved.

Remove from microwave; add vanilla extract and salt. Stir to combine until salt dissolves.

Place oats and nuts in a bowl and pour brown sugar syrup over them. Stir until thoroughly mixed.

Spread mixture on cookie sheets and bake 45 minutes. Stir mixture and add raisins. Cook another 15 minutes.

When cool, store in airtight container. (Raisins can also be added at the end for softer texture.)

*ok so the most recent time I made this, I added All-Bran cereal (about 1/2 cup) and chopped dried dates (about 1/4 cup). The flavor was amazing! It’s a must try!

3 responses to “Crunchy Granola

  1. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

Leave a Reply

