Curried Pumpkin Soup

So my dad brought this amazing pumpkin/squash soup on our trip for Thanksgiving. Little did I know that I also had a very similar recipe picked out to try in the coming weeks. I took a little of what he did and a little from the recipe I found and make my own version. This is super good, super easy, and super filling. And thanks for my brother, Ilan, I can now experiment improving my photos due to the photo booth he gave me for the holidays.

Curried Pumpkin Soup (www.espinosakitchen.wordpress.com)

Curried Pumpkin Soup

My version is a thinner soup. My dad’s version is thicker.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon EVOO or unsalted butter
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 8 oz. mushrooms, sliced or cut into quarters
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tsp cumin (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom
  • 1/2 salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 2 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 (15 oz.) can pumpkin
  • 1 (12 oz.) can fat-free evaporated milk
  • Plain fat-free Greek yogurt (we use Fage) for garnish
  • Fresh chives, chopped, for garnish

Directions:

  1. Heat oil or butter in a large pot. Add onion and mushrooms – saute about 4 minutes.
  2. Add garlic and cook another minute.
  3. Add spices and and honey and cook another minute.
  4. Stir or whisk in broth and pumpkin. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Add milk and simmer for 2 minutes.
  6. Garnish with yogurt and chives. Serve.

Curried Squash Soup (www.espinosakitchen.wordpress.com)

My dad’s version

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. fresh mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2  cup chopped onions
  • 2 T Butter
  •  2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1/2  to 1 t. curry powder
  •  3 cups vegetable broth
  •  1 can (15 oz) pumpkin (ok to use fresh 2 c.)
  • 1 1/2  cup milk
  • 1 T honey
  • 1/2   t. salt
  • 1/4  t. pepper
  • 1/4  t. ground nutmeg
  • sour cream or yogurt for garnish
  • chives for garnish

Directions:

  1. Sauté mushrooms and onion in the butter until tender
  2. Stir in flour and curry powder until blended
  3. Gradually add the broth
  4. Bring to a boil, cook & stir for 2 minutes until thickened
  5.  Add: pumpkin, milk, honey, salt, pepper and nutmeg
  6.  Heat through
  7.  Garnish individual servings with sour cream and chives (if desired)

A comment by my father after trying a variation to his soup: “I made the curried squash soup tonight without the mushrooms, increasing the onion to 3/4 of a large onion, chopped coarsely and 3/4 of a large green pepper put into the saute at the end, just prior to adding the flour to make the roux. Just prior to serving … I added some cilantro. It was really good.”

One response to “Curried Pumpkin Soup

Leave a Reply

