Choosing a Peanut Butter

Let’s talk about peanut butter. I have to admit that I just love the stuff and can honestly eat it by the spoonful. Although it is highly caloric, it is also a great snack due to its protein content. When it comes to choosing a peanut butter, there are a few things that need to be clear:

  1. Peanut butter should not contain anything but peanuts (and perhaps salt).
  2. The oils in the peanut butter need to separate in the jar.
  3. The word “natural” doesn’t mean anything. The FDA does not regulate this word, so any company can use it to describe their product  – often confusing costumers.

Yesterday while I was grocery shopping, I ran into an old co-worker of mine. She is making the change to eat healthier. I saw her grab for a Skippy Natural peanut butter and stopped her from buying it. Instead, I handed her Smucker’s Natural and showed her the difference on the ingredient list. Skippy contains palm oil while Smucker’s does not. Palm oil keeps the peanut butter from separating and is an unnecessary additive. She was more than appreciative once she realized how the company was trying to trick her.

I encourage everyone to simply be aware of the ingredients and not to be afraid of comparing products.

How to Choose a Peanut Butter (www.espinosakitchen.wordpress.com)

As for my peanut butter cravings, I choose to buy creamy instead of chunky because I love chunky and have a hard time resisting it when it’s in my fridge!

6 responses to “Choosing a Peanut Butter

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Shrimp Pad Thai | espinosakitchen

  2. Our peanut butter is also just peanuts. We are used to it now, but a friend made a peanut butter sandwich while staying with us and was super shocked by the bland flavor! 🙂 We usually add a little salt and maple syrup. But I think the plain peanut butter is totally perfect if you’re mixing it into a recipe.

  3. Smuckers natural PB gave me food poisoning last week. It’s nice to go for the organic/natural stuff, and that’s usually how I am. But the downside to natural peanut butter is the risk of contaminated peanuts, such as the recent sunland/ Trader Joes recall. I personally will never buy this brand again.

    • I’m sorry to hear that. I have never had this problem with Smucker’s Peanut Butter (I also do not buy the organic Smucker’s). However, non-organic have had many recalls and contamination as well.

  4. Pingback: Cookie Dough Greek Yogurt | espinosakitchen

Leave a Reply

